425-778-7339 — attypaulhanson@aol.com

Washington State Distracted Driving Law

Washington State’s tough distracted driving law went into effect in July 2017. The law makes it illegal to use a handheld device while driving, even while stopped at a traffic signal or stop sign. But users who have holders for the device on their dash, can use the device minimally to start or stop an application such as GPS. 

It costs a driver at least $136 the first time they are cited for distracted driving. If a driver gets another within five years of the first, it costs at least $234. 

Drivers also face a $99 fine for other types of distractions – eating, smoking, etc. – if they are pulled over for another traffic offense. 

Call Lynnwood traffic ticket lawyer Paul Hanson for more information. Call 425-778-7339.

Leave a Comment