Lynnwood DUI? Free First Phone or Office Legal Consultation
LYNNWOOD, WASHINGTON DUI OFFENSE INFORMATION
Washington DUI penalties have been getting consistently more severe every year.
Being charged with or convicted of a DUI can carry serious consequences for you and your family:
- Jail time
- Mandatory electronic home monitoring (EHM)
- Driver's license suspension or revocation
- Restriction of driving privileges
- Insurance - dropped auto coverage
- Insurance - raised auto rates, SR 22 insurance required
- Mandatory interlock ignition device (IID)
- Alcohol or drug treatment
- No entry into Canada
- Adverse Immigration Consequences
DUI and Physical Control laws are strictly enforced in Lynnwood and Snohomish County, Washington. The current legal limit for breath and blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% for adults and .02% for those under 21. The legal limit for marijuana DUIs is 5 nanograms for blood THC content. However, you can still be charged with DUI even if you are below these limits if the Prosecution can show that you were "affected" or "impaired" by any amount of alcohol, drugs, or both. You can also be convicted of "physical control of vehicle while intoxicated," even if you aren't actually driving the vehicle at the time of your arrest.
If your police blood or breath alcohol test was .15% or higher, or if you refused the breath/blood test, the 1st time DUI offense penalties are greater. And there are much harsher mandatory DUI jail terms, fines, & license revocation penalties for a second or third DUI offense. Especially if within 7 years of a prior DUI conviction. Also, there are mandatory Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirements of one year (1st DUI), five years (2nd DUI), & ten years (3rd DUI).
In addition to the above court imposed DUI penalties, you also face an additional Department of Licensing administrative suspension of your driver's license...even if you are found not guilty of the DUI in court. This additional DOL license suspension penalty is imposed if your police breath/blood alcohol test was .08% or higher. Or if you refused to take the test during your DUI arrest.
If you think your license has been suspended or revoked for a DUI, contact the Washington State Department of Licensing at their website: http://www.dol.wa.gov/ to verify your license status.
These above issues are what you face after being arrested & charged with a DUI. But there are strong defenses to DUI and Physical Control. These defenses can be raised by an experienced lawyer to help your case. And there is always the DUI Deferred Prosecution alcohol/drug treatment and case dismissal option for those with serious alcohol/drug problems who are willing to enter a two year treatment program.
DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING - Driver License Suspension Telephone Hearings Information for DUI cases
Your Department of Licensing DUI driver license suspension case will not be heard in court. Instead it will be heard entirely in a telephone conference call by a Department of Licensing (DOL) Hearing Examiner assigned to your DUI license suspension case. You have only 7 days from the day of your arrest to send in your request with the $375.00 DOL fee for this DOL telephone hearing.
This DOL telephone hearing will be scheduled within 30 days of the DOL's receipt of your request and fee. The assigned DOL Hearing Examiner will call you and your lawyer on your lawyer's office speaker telephone. Or on your own home or cell phone if you don't have a lawyer.
These DOL driver license suspension telephone hearings usually take about 25 to 50 minutes. You have the right to testify, to present witness testimony, and to present any other evidence you want to have considered in your defense. If you win, your license will not be suspended or revoked. If you lose, your license will be suspended or revoked for anywhere from 90 days to 1 year (for a 1st DUI arrest) and 2 years (for a 2nd or 3rd DUI arrest within last 7 years).
These Department of Licensing DUI license suspension telephone hearings are difficult to win, even with an experienced Lynnwood DUI lawyer. And you have almost no chance of winning without a lawyer.
If you believe your driver license may already be suspended or revoked due to a Lynnwood DUI or any other DUI, you may contact the Washington State Department of Licensing at their website: http://www.dol.wa.gov/ to find out your current license status.
Call Lynnwood DUI Attorney Paul Hanson for more information and a free first consultation.