Edmonds DUI? Need An Attorney? Free First Phone or Office Legal Consultation
Edmonds DUI attorney Paul Hanson has 31 years experience in defending DUI charges and Department of Licensing (DOL) driver license suspensions. He practices in all the district and municipal courts in Snohomish County.
Hanson has received the highest possible ratings from the national attorney rating services. An "AV" rating from Martindale-Hubbell and a "10-Superb" rating from Avvo.com. He is also a former Lynnwood City Prosecutor.
REASONABLE ATTORNEY FEES
Hiring a very experienced DUI attorney does not have to be unreasonably expensive. Paul Hanson's fees and case costs are very reasonable, especially when compared to other local attorneys with far less experience. And very reasonable when compared to the total costs of a DUI conviction. The total court $ fines and costs, the court probation $ fees, the greatly increased auto insurance premium $ rates, alcohol/drug treatment costs, etc. for even a first time DUI conviction can end up costing you well over $12,000. Double that cost for a 2nd DUI.
EDMONDS DUI OFFENSE INFORMATION
Being charged with or convicted of a DUI in Edmonds can carry serious consequences for you and your family, including the following:
- Jail time
- Mandatory electronic home monitoring (EHM)
- Driver's license suspension or revocation
- Restriction of driving privileges
- Insurance - dropped auto coverage
- Insurance - raised auto rates
- Mandatory interlock ignition device
- Alcohol or drug treatment
- No entry into Canada
DUI and Physical Control laws are strictly enforced in Edmonds and Snohomish County, Washington. The current legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 for adults and .02 for minors under 21. The new legal limit for marijuana THC blood content is 5 nanograms. However, you can be charged with DUI even if you are below these limits if the Prosecution can show that you were "affected" by any amount of alcohol, drugs or both. You can also be convicted of "physical control," even if you aren't actually driving the vehicle at the time of your arrest.
If your blood or breath test was .15 or higher, or if you refused the test, the DUI penalties are even harsher. The DUI/DWI penalties chart also has different levels for a first, second, third DUI offenses within 7 years.
If you produce an .08 BAC or higher, or 5 nanograms or higher, on your DUI breath / blood test in Washington State or if you refuse a breath / blood test, you also face an additional Department of Licensing administrative suspension of your driver's license, even if you are found not guilty of DUI in court.
A DOL telephone hearing may be requested to contest this administrative suspension. The deadlines to request these DOL telephone hearings to stop an automatic suspension of your license are relatively short, only 20 days. Contacting an experienced DUI lawyer as soon as possible is the best way to maximize your chances of keeping your license.
If you think your license has been suspended or revoked for a DUI, contact the Washington State Department of Licensing at their website: http://www.dol.wa.gov/ to verify your license status. If your license is suspended or revoked, immediately contact Edmonds DUI attorney Paul Hanson at 425-778-7339 for a free consultation.
SPECIAL DUI CASE INFORMATION
DUI is a serious offense in Edmonds and Washington State, the state with the toughest DUI laws in the country. Here DUI is a gross misdemeanor crime which carries harsh penalties if convicted.
Considering the harsh penalties involved, a strong DUI defense provided by Edmonds DUI attorney Paul Hanson may enable you to enjoy your life without losing your driver's license, going to jail, having a permanent criminal record, paying large fines and much higher auto insurance $ premiums, having an ignition interlock device (IID) required in your car, and not being permitted to enter Canada.
Edmonds DUI attorney Paul Hanson investigates everything, from inaccurate blood and breath alcohol tests, to the arrest location's road conditions, traffic patterns, weather, environmental conditions, and your personal medical conditions which might affect your police blood/breath alcohol tests. Because police mistakes can result in improper traffic stops, DUI, criminal charges, and inaccurate DUI breath/blood alcohol test results, he will thoroughly analyze all of the case evidence to find facts and evidence which can help your defense and avoid a conviction.
If you suffer from alcoholism, drug addiction, and/or a mental condition which resulted in your DUI offense, you can completely avoid a DUI conviction and almost all the DUI conviction punishments, by petitioning the court for a DUI Deferred Prosecution before trial. Deferred Prosecution requires completion of a two year alcohol/drug treatment program at a state approved alcohol / drug treatment agency, total abstinence during treatment, an ignition interlock device installed in your car for one year, payment of court costs, and successful completion of 5 years court probation. After 5 years, your DUI charge is then completely dismissed. Hanson has been helping clients get the right alcohol/drug treatment and obtain court DUI deferred prosecutions for over 29 years.
DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING - Driver License Suspension Telephone Hearings Information (For DUI Cases Only)
Your Department of Licensing DUI license suspension case will not be heard in the Shoreline court. Instead it will be heard entirely in a telephone conference call by a Department of Licensing (DOL) Hearing officer assigned to your DUI license suspension case. This telephone hearing will be scheduled within 60 days of your DUI arrest date (usually on the 55th to 59th day). The assigned DOL Hearing officer will call you and your lawyer on your lawyer's office speaker telephone.... or on your own home or cell phone if you don't have a lawyer.
These DOL license suspension telephone hearings usually take about 25 to 50 minutes. You have the right to testify, to present witness testimony, and to present any other evidence you want to have considered in your defense. If you win, you'll be able to get your driver license back. If you lose, your license will be suspended or revoked for anywhere from 90 days to 1 year to 2 years.
So if you've been arrested/charged with DUI, you should never just automatically plead guilty. There are always other, much better options. Even in the toughest cases.
Fight vigorously for your legal defense rights and learn about all your legal options. Edmonds DUI attorney Paul Hanson is committed to all clients he represents. He carefully investigates and analyzes every client's DUI case.