The 2017 Washington Legislature has recently passed a bill that completely bans holding a cell phone, or any electronic device, while driving or being stopped in traffic. The bill will also double the fine for a 2nd and subsequent offenses within 5 years. This changes the current law which only bans talking, with the phone next to your head. Under this new bill, a police officer can pull a driver over if upon just seeing a phone in your hand while driving.
For more information, contact Lynnwood traffic lawyer Paul Hanson at (425) 778-7339.
This week the Washington State Patrol is looking for tailgaters. Drivers following too close to the vehicle in front of them are more likely to get an infraction ticket during this emphasis patrol. The standard ticket penalty is $136.00. But if the driver causes an accident for following too close, then then penalty will be $187.00. The WSP said it investigated over 9,500 collisions caused by following too close last year and hope with this emphasis patrol they can drastically bring that number down this year.
For more information on Following Too Close Infractions, or any other traffic infraction, call Lynnwood Traffic Ticket Lawyer Paul G. Hanson at (425) 778-7339 for a free first consultation.
Seattle police officers will soon be wearing body cameras to record all interactions with those they contact while on duty. A dozen officers in the Department’s bicycle squad were the first ones, beginning in late December 2016. Eventually all 850 officers will be wearing them by the end of 2017. When the body camera is on, a visible light shows, alerting the contacted person that they’re being recorded. The department hopes the body cameras will reduce complaints against police and inspire public trust in the Seattle police.
For more information call Lynnwood criminal defense attorney, Paul Hanson at (425) 778-7339.
Drivers who stay in the left lane instead of just using it for passing may soon face a stiffer penalty. Washington State law makers are considering a new bill in this 2017 legislation would raise the ticket fine from $136 to $181.
State law allows drivers to drive in the left lane only if they are passing a slower vehicle that is on their right. Otherwise, you must stay out of the left lane (excluding HOV lanes).
Call Lynnwood traffic ticket lawyer Paul Hanson for more information and a free traffic ticket consultation at (425) 778-7339.
A proposed law is being considered in Washington State that would increase distracted driving ticket penalties.
Currently the fine for cell phone use while driving is $124, and it is not reported to your insurance company. The “Text Messaging Law” (RCW 46.61.668) prohibits sending, reading, or writing a text message while driving. The “Cell Phone Law” (RCW 46.61.667) prohibits hand-held wireless communication device use while driving.
This new proposed law would make it illegal to even touch your cell phone while driving. Also the proposed law would increase the penalty fine from $124 to as much as $350 and the second violation would be reported to your insurance, which could potentially increase your insurance rates.
Please call attorney Paul Hanson for additional information on these new laws. (425) 778-7339
New 2016 DUI Ignition Interlock Device (IID) laws have recently gone into effect in Washington. Until recently, convicted DUI drivers under a one year Ignition Interlock Device requirement did not have to actually install the required IID in their vehicle until the last four months of their one year IID period. Under the new 2016 laws, such drivers are now required to keep the IID in their vehicles for all 365 days of their DUI IID period.
Employees can still waive the IID requirement in their company vehicles for employee drivers when used for solely business purposes during working hours.
An estimated 20,000 Washington DUI drivers now have an IID installed in their vehicles. Another 10,000 more are required to have IIDs installed but haven’t installed one.
Washington’s “Move Over Law” requires all motorists to change lanes If it’s safe or, if it’s not, to slow down when passing police or any emergency vehicles who have pulled to the side of the roadway and have their emergency lights flashing. Motorists must do this at least 200 feet before and after passing the stopped police or emergency vehicle. Failure to do so results in a $214.00 ticket.
The “Move Over Law” was enacted to protect police and emergency personnel standing next to a stopped vehicle on the side of the road.
Many motorists are still unaware of this special passing requirement for police and emergency vehicles. So Washington State troopers are conducting emphasis patrols focusing specifically on the Move Over Law. State troopers stopped 4,216 drivers in 2015 for Move Over Law violations.
In October 2016, all the Snohomish County District Court (SCDC) judges ruled that the DUI Draeger breath instrument test results cannot be admitted into evidence in any DUI breath test trials in their four divisions (Lynnwood, Everett, Monroe, and Arlington). Such breath tests are the strongest evidence against DUI defendants.
The SCDC judges found that there were numerous Draeger software problems that had not been fully analyzed, tested, and fixed. The judges ruled that the State must first fully test and evaluate the new Draeger instruments to ensure they always produce accurate and reliable breath test results in every DUI case. Only then will the Draeger test results again be admissible in DUI cases.
This October 2016 ruling came after 1 ½ years of local Draeger litigation brought by over 40 plus Snohomish County DUI defense lawyers, including Lynnwood / DUI criminal defense attorney Paul Hanson. This SCDC ruling will make it significantly easier to defend DUI breath test cases in the four divisions of the SCDC. At least until the Draeger software problems are finally evaluated and fixed
If you have a SCDC Draeger breath test DUI case, contact Attorney Hanson for more details about this ruling and for a free initial attorney consultation. Call (425) 778-7339.
Many Washington drivers are unaware that they can be charged for sleep impaired dangerous driving. Driving after 18 hours without sleep mimics a 0.05% blood alcohol concentration. Driving after 21 hours without sleep mimics driving over the 0.08% legal limit for alcohol (Source: 2016 Governors Highway Safety Association). So legally driving with too little sleep is equivocal to driving with too much alcohol.
If you fall asleep at the wheel and kill or seriously injure someone, you could be charged with the felony crimes of Vehicular Homicide or Vehicular Assault. If you cause minor injury or serious property damage, you could be charged with the gross misdemeanor offense of Reckless Driving. If you cause a fender bender or no accident, then you could be charged with the traffic infraction of Negligent Driving 2nd degree.
For more information, please call Lynnwood DUI / traffic ticket lawyer Paul Hanson. Call (425) 778-7339 for a free first consultation.
A recent Seattle area study found that having traffic tickets on your driving record significantly increases your auto insurance rates. Especially for younger drivers (16 to 24) . Quote Wizard, an insurance comparison website, commissioned a just released study to obtain a snapshot of Seattle’s car insurance market. The study surveyed 500 Seattle based drivers.
The average monthly insurance costs for drivers with tickets on their driving record was $156 a month verses only $134 a month for drivers without tickets. That’s a $22.00 a month difference. Since auto insurance companies typically base their rates on the last 3 years of the driving record, which means an average extra cost of $792.00 for drivers with tickets.
So it pays to fight a traffic ticket, especially if you’re under 25. Especially since the typical attorney fee is only $250 – $350.
Contact Lynnwood / Shoreline traffic ticket lawyer Paul Hanson at (425) 778-7339 for more information. He has over 33 years experience defending traffic tickets in Snohomish and King County.
Traffic Lawyers, Lynnwood, WA