Washington State law has recently increased penalties for a BUI (Boating Under the Influence). A BUI is now a Gross Misdemeanor, and if you are convicted you can face up to $5,000 in fines and up to one year in jail.
Boat operators are held to the same standards as a motorist and can be charged with a BUI if their alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher. And while there is no license suspension associated with a BUI charge, if the boat operator refuses a breath test, they are subject to a $1,000 civil penalty. A THC concentration (marijuana) of 5.0 or higher can result in a BUI charge as well.
A BUI conviction will count as a prior DUI charge in court.
With SeaFair this weekend, extra BUI and DUI patrols will be out in full force.
Lynnwood DUI Attorney Paul Hanson
Speeding remains the most ticketed highway violation around the Puget Sound. The violations are concentrated to very specific areas you could call ticket “hot spots”.
Troopers admittedly target areas known for trouble to reduce fatal accidents, but why specific miles within those target areas see a sudden spike in ticket activity is less scientific:
- An HOV on ramp makes it easy for troopers to pull over, track a driver’s speed and then merge back into traffic.
- Just after a congested area, where a driver is more likely to speed, making up for lost time.
Similar scenarios were found at other hot spots in the region. Mr. Hanson can defend you in a speeding or other infraction ticket.
Lynnwood Traffic Ticket Lawyer Paul Hanson
Beginning this month, the cost of a HOV (carpool lane) violation ticket has increased to $136. The WSP says that HOV violations are the number one citizen reported driving violation, with an average of 80 calls and emails each day. Since 2012 the number of HOV violations has increased by 77%. Through May of this year, WSP has written almost half a million dollars-worth of HOV violations in just King County. Attorney Hanson handles HOV violation tickets.
Washington State HOV Sign
Yesterday I won a Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) 2nd Degree trial because the Prosecution failed to provide it’s key driving record evidence to the defense before the trial started. That is a serious violation of the court rules and the rules of evidence. Yet people defending themselves without a lawyer, and even some defense lawyers sometimes, proceed to trial without knowing whether they have all the Prosecution’s important evidence, called “Discovery”. That is a serious mistake which can be avoided only by hiring an experienced defense attorney.